Warsaw hosted the INC Congress in 2022

A specific congress website about the XVI International Numismatic Congress in Warsaw is also available and continuously updated under the following adress: inc2022.pl


According to the decision of the INC General Assembly taken on 20th September 2015 in Taormina the XVI International Numismatic Congress was to be held in Warsaw (Warszawa).

University of Warsaw in cooperation with the National Museum in Warsaw, the National Museum in Cracow, the Polish Numismatic Society and under the umbrella of the National Bank of Poland hosted the congress.

The International Numismatic Congress was originally planned for 2021. In May 2020 the International Numismatic Council (INC) and the Congress Organising Committee announced to postpone the congress to 2022.



Round Tables


Lelewel session

Organising Committee

  • Prof. Aleksander Bursche, president (University of Warsaw) abursche@yahoo.com
  • Dr. hab. Jarosław Bodzek vice-president (Jagiellonian University and National Museum in Cracow) bodzek@o2.pl
  • Dr. Anna Zapolska secretary (University of Warsaw) anna.zapolska@gmail.com
  • Dr. hab. Mateusz Bogucki (Polish Academy of Sciences, Szczecin) matbogu@yahoo.com
  • Dr. Barbara Butent-Stefaniak (Ossolineum) barbara.butent-stefaniak@ossolineum.pl
  • Dr. hab. Renata Ciołek (University of Warsaw) renataciolek@uw.edu.pl
  • Dr. hab. Arkadiusz Dymowski (independent scholar, Gdynia) arekdym@yahoo.com
  • Dr. Witold Garbaczewski (National Museum in Poznań) garbaczewski@mnp.art.pl
  • Genowefa Horoszko (National Museum in Szczecin) g.horoszko@muzeum.szczecin
  • Dr. hab. Agata Kluczek (Silesian University in Katowice) agata.kluczek@us.edu.pl
  • Prof. Ryszard Zbigniew Kokoszczyński (Polish National Bank and University of Warsaw) ryszard.kokoszczynski@nbp.pl
  • Prof. Mariusz Mielczarek (Polish Academy of Sciences, Łódź) mielmar@umk.pl
  • Dr. Dorota Malarczyk (Emeryk Hutten-Czapski Museum in Cracow) dorota.malarczyk@uj.edu.pl, dmalarczyk@muzeum.krakow.pl
  • Prof. Borys Paszkiewicz (University of Wrocław) borys.paszkiewicz@gmail.com
  • Andrzej Romanowski (National Museum in Warsaw) ARomanowski@mnw.art.pl
  • Dr. hab. Marcin Wołoszyn (University of Rzeszów) marcinwoloszyn@gmail.com
  • Michał Zawadzki (The Royal Castle in Warsaw – Museum) majki9@wp.pl
  • Przemysław Ziemba (Polish Numismatic Society, Warsaw) prezes@ptn.pl
  • International Advisory Board

  • Peter van Alfen (New York)
  • Roger Bland (Cambridge)
  • Jarosław Bodzek (Krakow)
  • Mateusz Bogucki (Warsaw)
  • Jerome Jambu (Paris)
  • Amiteshwar Jha (Nasik)
  • Dorota Malarczyk (Krakow)
  • Ariana d`Ottone (Rome)
  • Tuukka Talvio (Helsinki)
  • Helen Wang (London)
  • Zhou Weirong (Beijing)
  • Wasyl Zajcew (Moscow)
  • Duties:

  • promoting the XVI INC in Warsaw in own countries/regions,
  • selecting sessions, round tables, papers and posters based on abstracts.
  • reviewing contributions for Proceedings.
  • Technical Operator

    The technical operator of the congress was the company Mazurkas travel.


    A competition concerning the logotype was organised by the Polish Numismatic Society. The winner out of more than 40 participants is Mr Aleksander Bąk from Poznan. He is a famous specialist of creation of graphic signs, branding, image advertisement and direct marketing etc, and will be adviser of the visual communication.


    A congress medal is designed by the medallist Mr. Robert Kotowicz. For further information about the medal see about the Congress medal and about the medal designer.

    Practical information

    About the University of Warsaw, host and congress venue:

  • General information about the University
  • Maps
  • Movie

    See the movie “2300 Years of Coinage in Poland”

    On the behalf of Professor Marcin Pałys, Rector of the University of Warsaw and Professor Aleksander Bursche, Instytut Archeologii, Uniwersytet Warszawski.